Female Founders Award Ceremony 2022

AmCham Germany hosted its third Female Founders Award Ceremony to celebrate the unique stories of three female founders and the success of their business models. Such models delve into climate targets, AI and healthcare, and social inclusion.
Photo Copyright: Anita Back

On March 31, 2022, AmCham Germany hosted its third Female Founders Award Ceremony at the Microsoft Berlin Office to celebrate the unique and innovative stories of three female founders and recognize the success of their business models. These models delve into climate targets, AI and healthcare and social inclusion.

Dr. Marianne Janik, Chairwoman of the Managing Board of Microsoft Germany and Patron of the Award kicked-off the event. She emphasized the significance of the Female Founders Award, not only as a recognition, but as an initiative to promote visibility for female entrepreneurs. She underlined the significant gap in the proportion of female founders within Germany. In this effort, the Award serves to give female entrepreneurs the chance to expand their networks and foster an innovation-friendly environment.

Ana-Maria Trăsnea, Secretary for Active Citizenship, Democracy Support and International Relations, Senate Chancellery Berlin,  provided insights to the situation of Berlin as a city that has become a major hub of entrepreneurship and innovation. Nevertheless, she echoed the challenges – especially surrounding diversity in the start-up ecosystem. She highlighted the necessity to provide (funding) networks and create structures that foster diversity and incentives.  In a similar fashion, in his keynote speech,  Dr. h. c. Thomas Sattelberger called for diversity as a cornerstone for entrepreneurial spirit and innovation. The interplay of these factors are essential to tackle the myriad of challenges our societies are facing, such as digital transformation, and climate change.

Simone Menne, AmCham Germany President, together with Torsten Oltmanns, AmCham Germnay Chapter Chair Berlin-Brandenburg announced the three winners of this year:

Allison Dring, CEO & Co-Founder, Made of Air GmbH

Diana Heinrichs, CEO & Co-Founder, Lindera GmbH

Maria Möller, CEO & Co-Founder talking hands flipbooks GmbH

Made of Air GmbH, co-founded by Allison Dring, focuses on using unique climate-capture materials, such as Biochar, to lock in fossil fuels, reduce plastic and aluminum usage in manufactured goods, to eventually reach a net-zero economy.

Lindera GmbH, co-founded by Diana Heinrichs, is an app-based mobility analysis software to develop solutions in a wide range of conditions such as orthopedics, neurology and geriatrics by using AI and 3D technology.

Maria Möller’s talking hands flipbooks GmbH brings forth a series of unique and visual learning booklets for children to foster inclusion from a young age. The aim of these products is to provide a simple platform between children with and without (speech) disabilities to learn about language in a joint manner.

The ceremony concluded with a panel discussion between the awardees and Lena Werner, SPD, Member of the German Parliament, to exchange thoughts on policies to foster entrepreneurship in the case of Germany,  and discuss expectations and challenges and share their own experiences in the matter.  

The event was moderated by Chelsea Spieker, Event Host and Podcast Presenter and co-hosted by AmCham Germany Chapter Chair Torsten Oltmanns.

We wish to thank our cooperation partner, Microsoft Germany, and our Award Patron, Dr. Marianne Janik for their generous support and commitment to the Female Founders Award. A warm thank you goes to our sponsors Texas Instruments, GreenbergTraurig and Lilly Deutschland, as well as our media and network partners news aktuell, Digital Media Women, SHE Works!, GERMANTECH, Grace, herCAREER, Transatlantic Female Forum and Verband deutscher Unternehmen. Thank you to our jury and to all the inspiring women who applied to this year’s award with their unique story and business model.

For more detailed information please contact:

Thomas Henneberg

Manager, Head of Membership Engagement & Events