Transatlantic Partnership Award

Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger has been Chairman of the Munich Security Conference since 2008. He is Senior Professor for Security Policy and Diplomatic Practice at the Hertie School of Governance, Berlin, and Adjunct Professor at the University of Tuebingen.
Ischinger began his diplomatic career in 1973 in the cabinet of the UN Secretary-General. In 1975, he joined the Federal Republic of Germany’s Foreign Service. As part of his distinguished diplomatic carreer, he served as German Ambassador in Washington, DC from 2001 to 2006.
From 2008 to 2014, he was also Global Head of Government Relations of Allianz SE, Munich. Ambassador Ischinger serves on a number of corporate boards and advisory councils. He is also a member of the Trilateral Commission and the European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR).
Read Amb. Ischinger's full bio here.

Two speakers honored this year's awardee with laudation speeches:
General Jim Jones, U.S. Marine Corps General (ret.) and former National Security Advisor, who has extensive transatlantic experience through his positions as Commander, United States European Command (COMUSEUCOM) and Supreme Allied Commander Europe (SACEUR) and chairman of the Atlantic Council, as well as Professor Dr. Wolfgang Reitzle, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Linde AG, who has held high-level positions in the automotive industry both in the US and Germany. Click on the following links to access General Jones’ full CV and Professor Reitzle’s full CV.

The list of past laureates can be found here.

  • 2016
    Hans Van Bylen, CEO Henkel; Peter Hoecklin, President & CEO, TRUMPF Inc. North America; Dr. Franz Kleiner, Member of the Board of Management, ZF Friedrichshafen AG; Dr. Nicola Leibinger-Kammüller, President & Chairwoman of the Managing Board, TRUMPF Group;  Jerry Perkins, President, Henkel North America; Wayne T. Smith, Member of the Board of Executive Directors, BASF SE; Dr. Stefan Sommer, CEO, ZF Friedrichshafen AG; Teressa Szelest-Shah, President Market & Business Development North America, BASF Corporation and Ludwig Willisch, President & CEO, BMW of North America
    Laudatio: John B. Emerson, Ambassador of the United States of America to the Federal Republic of Germany

  • 2014
    Dr. Tom Enders, CEO, Airbus Group & Gregory J. Hayes, Chairman & CEO, United Technologies
    Laudatio: Dr. Manfred Bischoff, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Daimler AG

  • 2013
    Die Berliner Philharmoniker & The New York Philharmonic
    Laudatio: Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble, Federal Minister of Finance

  • 2012
    Dirk Nowitzki, NBA Champion 2011, Dallas Mavericks
    Laudatio: Dr. Eric N. Olson, Professor and Chair Department of Molecular Biology University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas

  • 2011
    William (Bill) H. Gates III, Co-Chair and Trustee Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
    on behalf of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
    Laudatio: Sabine Christiansen, TV-Presenter on behalf of Dr. Michael Otto, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Otto Group

  • 2010
    Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Hasso Plattner, Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates, SAP AG
    Laudatio: Prof. John L. Hennessy, President of Stanford University

  • 2009
    Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, 38th Governor of the State of California
    Laudatio: Thomas Gottschalk, Entertainer

  • 2008
    Dr. Jürgen Weber, Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats, Deutsche Lufthansa AG
    Laudatio: Robert M. Kimmitt, Deputy Secretary of the Treasury, US Department of the Treasury and former US Ambassador to Germany

  • 2007
    Meg Whitman, President and Chief Executive Officer, eBay Inc.
    Laudatio: Bundesjustizministerin a.D. Brigitte Zypries

  • 2006
    Professor Kurt Masur, Conductor
    Laudatio: The Hon. Richard C. Holbrooke, Former Ambassador to Germany and the United Nations

  • 2005
    Jeffrey R. Immelt, Chief Executive Officer General Electric Company
    Laudatio: Bundeskanzler a.D. Gerhard Schröder

  • 2004
    Otto Schily, Bundesinnenminister a.D.
    Laudatio: Tom Ridge, US Secretary of Homeland Security

  • 2003
    Ambassador Robert B. Zoellick, United States Trade Representative
    Laudatio: Frank Elbe, German Ambassador to Switzerland

  • 2002
    Dr. Otto Graf Lambsdorff, Bundesminister a.D. und Ehrenvorsitzender der FDP
    Laudatio: Paul Volcker, Former Chairman, American Federal Reserve Board

  • 2001
    Prof. Dr. Günter Blobel, Forscher, The Rockefeller University
    Laudatio: Erivan Haub, Chairman, Unternehmensgruppe Tengelmann

  • 2000
    The Hon. Richard C. Holbrooke, U.S. Botschafter bei den Vereinten Nationen
    Laudatio: Thomas Middelhoff, Vorstandsvorsitzender, Bertelsmann AG

  • 1999
    Ambassador Vernon A. Walters, Ehemaliger U.S. Botschafter in Deutschland
    Laudatio: Bundeskanzler a.D. Dr. Helmut Kohl

  • 1998
    Prof. Dr. Kurt Biedenkopf, Ministerpräsident des Freistaates Sachsen a.D.
    Laudatio: Dr. Mark Wössner, Vorstandsvorsitzender, Bertelsmann AG

  • 1997
    Dr. Mark M. Wössner, Vorstandsvorsitzender, Bertelsmann AG
    Laudatio: Dr. Henry Kissinger, former US Secretary of State

  • 1996
    Erivan Haub, Alleingeschäftsführender Gesellschafter der Unternehmensgruppe Tengelmann
    Laudatio: Robert M. Kimmitt, former US Ambassador to Germany

  • 1995
    ‘Amerika Häuser’ in Germany
    Laudatio: Bundesaußenminister a.D. Hans-Dietrich Genscher

  • 1994
    Senator J. William Fulbright, Fulbright Program
    Laudatio: Bundesaußenminister a.D. Hans-Dietrich Genscher

  • 1993
    Hans-Dietrich Genscher, Bundesaußenminister a.D.
    Laudatio: Edzard Reuter, Vorsitzender des Vorstandes Daimler-Benz AG

  • 1992
    Edzard Reuter, Vorsitzender des Vorstandes, Daimler-Benz AG
    Laudatio: Walther Leisler Kiep, former Chairman, Atlantik Brücke e.V.

  • 1991
    Senator Richard G. Lugar, United States Senator
    Laudatio: Bundesaußenminister a.D. Hans-Dietrich Genscher

  • 1990
    Walther Leisler Kiep, Chairman, Atlantik Brücke e.V., Bonn
    Laudatio: Senator Charles McC. Mathias, Jr., Chairman, The American Council on Germany

  • 1989
    Senator Charles McC. Mathias, Jr., Chairman, The American Council on Germany
    Laudatio: Dr. Dieter Kronzucker, Leiter, Heute Journal, Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen

  • 1988
    Dr. Dieter Kronzucker, Leiter, Heute Journal, ZDF Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen
    Laudatio: Richard R. Burt, Former US Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Germany

  • 1987
    Berndt von Staden, Staatssekretär a.D.
    Laudatio: Albert O.Hicks, former President of AmCham Germany

Who is recognized?

People who have made special contributions to the transatlantic relationship in their field. The following criteria should be met:

  • Individual from Germany or the US, living in either the United States or Germany
  • Individual with notable achievements in business, politics, science, arts, or culture
  • Individual whose accomplishments receive wide public attention

The spectrum of award nominees includes innovative, creative, and intellectual achievements as well as “established” personalities.

The independent jury consists of seven distinguished personalities from the transatlantic business, media and political community.

Each year, a jury meeting is held.

Bernhard Mattes, President, AmCham Germany & Chairman, Ford-Werke GmbH, is acting Chairman.

Jury Members

  • Bernhard Mattes, President AmCham Germany & Chairman Ford-Werke GmbH
  • Dorothee Blessing, Investment Banker, J.P. Morgan Chase
  • Frank Dopheide, Founder & CEO, Deutsche Markenarbeit
  • Dr. Peter Frey, Editor-In-Chief, Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (ZDF)
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Reimelt, President & CEO, GE Energy Germany
  • Frank Riemensperger, Executive Vice President AmCham Germany & Country Managing Director, Accenture
  • Gabor Steingart, Publisher, Handelsblatt GmbH

Advisory Council:
Jutta Falke-Ischinger, Senior Advisor Public Affairs, Burson-Marsteller GmbH

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors